Welcome to the web page for the Lyme Tax Office. Here is some important information that residents need to know.
Tax Payment Information
- Taxes can be paid by cash or check in person at Lyme Town Hall during normal office hours.
- Please make checks payable to: Lyme Tax Collector
- Mail payments to:
Lyme Tax Collector
480 Hamburg Road
Lyme, CT 06371
- The current mill rate (effective July 1, 2023) is 19.50 mills or $19.50 per $1,000 of assessed valuation, as set by the Board of Finance.
Real Estate, Personal Property & Motor Vehicle Tax Bills
- The Town of Lyme is a “single-installment town,” meaning that bills for all Real Estate, Personal Property and Motor Vehicle taxes are due and payable on July 1 – with August 1 being the last day to pay without penalty.
- Supplemental Motor Vehicle tax bills, which are issued for any vehicles newly registered between October 2 and July 31 and are due and payable on January 1 – with February 1 being the last day to pay without penalty.
- All Connecticut residents with a vehicle registration, driver’s license, or non-driver ID card must update the Department of Motor Vehicles within 48 hours of any change of address. Here is some useful information for residents regarding Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles services:
- DMV has made it easier for residents to take care of many services online.
- To change the address on your driver’s license, click here, then choose the “Change your address” tab.
- To change your name on your driver’s license, click here, then choose the “Change your name” tab.
- To renew your registration, click here.
- To cancel your license plates, click here.
- For a full list of online DMV services, click here.
State Statutes & Delinquent Tax Bills
- The Lyme Tax office is governed by Connecticut General Statutes. Two of the most important of these state that:
- a resident’s failure to receive a tax bill or the Tax Office’s failure to send a tax bill does not invalidate a tax; and
- a Tax Collector does not have the authority to waive interest on a delinquent tax.
- Under state statute, delinquent tax bills are charged interest at the rate of 1.5% per month (18% per year) from the original due date of the tax bill – with a minimum penalty of $2.00 per delinquent tax bill.
- Residents may contact the Tax Collector by phone at 860-434-8092; by email at email@example.com; or in person at Town Hall during normal office hours.
- The Tax Collector’s office hours are Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, from 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.; and again from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. (Closed on Wednesdays.)
- During the month of July, office hours are Mondays through Fridays, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.